Leaning on God

I do a lot of leaning; with my right leg two inches shorter than my left, I have no choice. After suffering the trauma of a gunshot wound to my leg, I needed to rely on a lot of orthopedic equipment throughout my recovery.Crutches2

During that time, I also suffered spiritual trauma. Some people did not understand my new found faith in Jesus as my Savior. They would accuse me of using Jesus as a crutch. I never understood their meaning. Isn’t a crutch a foundation to keep an injured person from falling? When you lean on something, don’t you expect it to hold you up?

I have since graduated from crutches to an occasional use of my cane. I need my cane for times of stress on my joints, when I am weary from a long day, and when I need the extra stability for an upward climb. I am grateful for the security it brings.

Aren’t you grateful for the security God’s unfailing love brings to your life? You can lean on the Lord. You can trust Him. He is our foundation. He will never leave you nor forsake you.

I want to lean on the Lord; not just believe in Him, but completely and exclusively lean on God. After all – He is our ever present help, He is our strength, He is our hope. He gives us sufficient grace for the infirmities that we may face in this life. I am so thankful that I can lean on Him, because I am sure that I would stumble without Him!

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding;In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)

Join the conversation! I invite your comments and hope you will recommend my site to other broken people.

Blessings, Maureen

 

2 responses to “Leaning on God

  1. Maureen, thank you for inviting me to your site. It’s absolutely lovely, I relish the sense of Light—both in the skilled design, and in the substance and tone of your heartfelt words. You have brought to me a measure of true Shalom, for living this day.
    May the peace of Christ, our Yeshua, be yours, as you enter the shadow places and bring out a Lantern, walking through the fragments and share true wholeness.

    Robert

    Like

Leave a Reply

