So You Want to be a Sheep…(Part I)

by Melinda Wilson – TwoGirlsVideoProduction

When my girls were young we would often sing the song,  I just wanna be a sheep – Baa, baa, baa, baa… When I was driving, I would pop that cassette tape in and before you know it, sheep sounds would arise from the back seat. What a joyful memory!

I am fascinated by the behaviors of sheep and especially the relationship between the sheep and the Good Shepherd, (more on that next time). This post will focus on the woolly creatures.

Sheep are mentioned in the Bible more than any other animal. The Bible has a lot to say about sheep. Symbolically, they refer to God’s people.

It is the nature of sheep to be dependent on one another, defenseless against their enemies and the storms of life. They are directionless and easily distracted. Some would consider them dumb, but I don’t entirely believe that; they just need a shepherd.

Sheep have a strong flocking instinct and become agitated if they are separated from the rest of the flock. All the sheep that belong to the shepherd are of one flock. The Lord tells us in Isaiah 53:6 that most sheep will go astray and follow their own way.

So why would you want to be a sheep? As sheep, we need only to trust the Lord and follow Him. We need Jesus, our Good Shepherd to lead and guide us, to care for us, and to protect us from the enemy.

I want to be a sheep of His pasture and follow Jesus. What contentment and sufficiency we have in Him!

Sheep in the pasture – Biltmore House, Asheville, NC

What to read more?  34 Bible verses about sheep

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. John 10:27-28 (NJKV)

Join the conversation! I invite your comments and hope you will recommend my site to other broken people.

Blessings, Maureen

Leave a Reply

