The Father’s Love – Prayer for the Prodigal (Guest Post by Tom)

Faith + BelieveI am the father on the front porch watching and searching for my prodigal beyond the horizon. I once also was the prodigal far from home, empty and hurting. I was alone and without hope. I long for the return of my little one. Like the shepherd searching for the one lost sheep stuck in the thicket, without rest I search and pray for her return. The flock is where we belong. There is no better place to be.

Wishing I could have prevented her wandering. Could my watchful eyes have stopped her wandering heart? No more so than watching a raging river would stop it from rushing to the sea. Oh river of life, return my prodigal to me. Restore the years the locust have eaten away. You are the great Redeemer. Return to us the time stolen by the wandering heart. I long to hear her say, “Dad, The Lord has done great things for me. The Lord has done great things for us.”

I once ached for my Father’s love. I once was that son on a dry and dusty road. And now I am in my Father’s house, longing for my little lamb to come home. Yes Lord, I will receive her with open arms. Even run to meet her on the road as You have done for me.

All we like sheep have gone astray; We have turned, every one, to his own way; And the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.
Isaiah 53:6 (NJKV)

Oh Lord, send a kind soul, a Samaritan of heart to bandage her wounds and set Lonely Treeher on her way. Point her in the right direction and lead her back to me. You are the One who not only sees the needy soul by the side of the road. You’re the One who rescues them. You are the Healer of the broken hearted and the Lover of our souls.

Rebellion brings separation and separation brings loneliness. Yes, loneliness brings sorrow and sorrow leads to pain. Come home my little one. I will not ask where you have been. You are safe in my arms. Restored, forgiven, set free and alive again. There is no greater place to be than in our Father’s house.

And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.                          Psalm 23:6a (NJKV)

When I am in my Father’s arms, I know He loves me and I am His own. The only thing that matters is I am home. Come little one, I wait for your return with open arms.

Join the conversation! I invite your comments and hope you will recommend my site to other broken people.

Mo and Tom Blessings, Maureen & Tom

Leave a Reply

