God Meets Us in Our Broken Places

The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, And saves such as have a contrite spirit.                        Psalm 34:18 (NJKV)

I have experienced much brokenness in my life. Since I had a heart of stone for so many years and because I wanted God to heal my broken heart, I have discovered the blessing of brokenness. While it may sound strange; brokenness has become a lifestyle.

Contrary to how the world may define brokenness, nor how tempted we may be to resist it, brokenness does bring blessing. A contrite heart is one that is not led by self-will, but one that is obedient to the conviction of God’s word and led by the Spirit of God.

It is my brokenness that God uses to humble me and to teach me His ways. I have so much to learn! Brokenness has given me a willingness to be open and transparent with others. I now have a dependent spirit for the God whom I trust.

The fact is that brokenness is a reality for all of us. Jesus was broken for you. Don’t wait for God to break you, rather choose to be broken. Choose the way of the cross and choose to lay down your self-will. There is rest and freedom in yielding a broken, contrite heart to be molded by the hand of God.

“It is a wonder what God can do with a broken heart, if He gets all the pieces” Samuel Chadwick

contrite heart

Join the conversation! I invite your comments and hope you will recommend my site to other broken people.

Blessings, Maureen

Leave a Reply

