God Loves to Use Broken Vessels

broken vessels

 

When I look at these broken jars of clay, I see them as discarded, no longer useful with their cracks, chips and flaws. They are just a common fragile vessel; easily broken. Perhaps this is how you see yourself today. Have you been broken by life’s circumstances?  Is your heart burdened with guilt and shame? Are you wondering how God could ever love you?

On a trip to Israel, I brought home a clay jar. It is not particularly beautiful, but it is precious to me. There is a wick inside to shine a light. But, who would want to light a clay jar where the cracks and imperfections become illuminated?

God will use the brokenness in your life for His glory. Your weakness and fragility becomes the powerful testimony of how God uses ordinary people for His purposes. It is then that imperfections become glorious!

God calls us jars of clay. The light shining in our heart contains a great treasure. Here’s the good news – the power of the gospel is not found in what you do, but what Jesus has done for you on the Cross. God’s amazing love will never leave you or forsake you.

jarsofclay

For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness, who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellence of the power may be of God and not of us.  We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed—always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body.  2 Corinthians 4:6-10 (NKJV)

Prayer – Lord, give me boldness to be used for your glory. Help me shine your light of the gospel to others through my weakness. 

You can read my testimony, Out of the Brokenness, in the new book Trials and Triumphs II  Trials and Triumphs Book Cover

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe! I appreciate your comments and I hope you will recommend my site to other broken people.

Love and Blessings,
Maureen

     

 

2 responses to “God Loves to Use Broken Vessels

  1. Kristin Martino

    God Bless you sister!
    Your article really touched my heart!
    It truly explains exactly how I’ve been feeling and thinking…”How can God ever use me?
    I’m just a “broken vessel”
    I definitely will get this book, and I’ve shared this article with some of my friends!
    Jesus bless you!
    Kristin

    Like

    • Dear Kristin, Thank you so much for your comment and sharing of my post. God does use broken vessels! Your brokenness is powerful if you will give God all the pieces. He sees your heart and your longing to be used by Him.

      Blessings, Maureen
      http://www.MaureenHager.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

