Are You Too Broken?

broken tattooI remember the time my doctor informed me that my arm was too shattered to ever function again.

My psychologist told me I would never be able to love anyone again.

My friends concluded I would always live with the shame and condemnation of my past.

The world reported to me that a broken heart never really heals. So… I masked mine in a protective shell to shelter me from any more hurt and pain. I told myself it was the end of ever finding joy, hope and purpose in my life.

The significance of being broken can take on many meanings. Here’s a few: damaged, crushed, shattered, destroyed, defective, not functioning properly.

Have you ever felt such brokenness, hopelessness, emptiness and sorrow? I know I have been broken – physically, mentally and spiritually. I was devastated by the trauma of it all until I discovered that the truth of God’s love, compassion and grace overwhelmed my brokenness.

broken - grace

The New King James Bible reveals 165 results for broken. The Scriptures have a lot to declare about brokenness. For a list of Healing Scriptures, check on my website.

He heals the brokenhearted And binds up their wounds.          Psalm 147:3

The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, And saves such as have a contrite spirit. Psalm 34:18

broken heart - Ps 34-18

Dear Friend, I want you to know that the Lord can restore what is broken and change you into a person of hope, joy, and purpose by His transforming love. You are not too broken; your past does not define you; you can be whole again!

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28

Today…I can move my arm in spite of what the doctor predicted. I have been married to a wonderful man for 32 years. I do not live with shame and condemnation from my past. Jesus uses my brokenness to proclaim the Good News of the Gospel to those who are lost and hurting. I do live with some physical disabilities, but I have found joy and hope in God’s plan and purpose for my life (Jeremiah 29:11). For more: click to read my testimony.

Pray-ButtonThank you Lord for your transforming love to heal our brokenness and restore us with love, hope and joy in your salvation.

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe! I appreciate your comments and I hope you will recommend my site to other broken people.

Thanks for Sharing!  Follow me on Twitter: @Maureen_Hager

Like my Facebook Page: Maureen Hager – Out of the Brokenness

Love and Blessings,
Maureen

 

Leave a Reply

