Is Your Brokenness Showing?

broken heartHer beautiful smile and warm countenance caused me to stop and offer a holiday blessing. She struggled to maneuver the motorized shopping cart through the aisles of the store. Her brokenness was showing, but her spirit was joyfully whole. In the eyes of God, she accepted her weakness and allowed His strength to manifest in her life.

We live with brokenness and blessings, challenges and victories, sorrow and joy. They are intertwined together. Allow the Lord to remove the strands of brokenness and sorrow from your life and the blessings and joy will remain. The challenge is to give God all your broken pieces to receive the victory. “For the battle is the Lord’s…” 1 Samuel 17:47

Some of us lock our broken heart inside walls of sorrow. We vow we won’t let anyone or anything hurt us again. We develop a hard heart. Our brokenness is hidden. Scripture compares a hardened heart to a rebellious heart. “Today, if you will hear His voice, Do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.” Hebrews 3:15

Some of us (like myself) show our brokenness to the world. I walk with a limp; I can’t hide it. My cane provides extra stability and I am grateful for the security it brings. “The Lord is my strength and my shield; My heart trusted in Him, and I am helped; Therefore my heart greatly rejoices, And with my song I will praise Him.” Psalm 28:7

Some of us look broken from the weariness of fighting life’s battles. We hang our head in hopelessness. We question the Lord’s love and faithfulness to deliver us from our circumstances. “Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart, All you who hope in the Lord.” Psalm 31:24

Healing is possible. There is rest and freedom in yielding a broken, contrite heart to broken heart - Ps 34-18be molded by the hand of God. The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, And saves such as have a contrite spirit.” Psalm 34:18

Pray-ButtonThank you Lord that we can trust you with our broken places. You fill our wounded hearts with peace and hope.

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe and recommend my site to other broken people. I appreciate your comments – What broken pieces do you need to give to God?

Thanks for Sharing! Follow me on Twitter: @Maureen_Hager
Like my Facebook Page: Maureen Hager – Out of the Brokenness
View my Pinterest Boards: Maureen Hager

Love and Blessings,
Maureen

Leave a Reply

