Are You Willing to Give the Lord the Key to Your Heart?

key to my heartHave you spent too much time in the valleys of life? Wouldn’t you like to walk in the freedom of Christ? Jesus’ shed blood on the cross paid the price to set us free.

Scripture tells us in Psalm 44:21b, For He knows the secrets of the heart.” God wants you to surrender control of your heart. I know this to be true because Jesus waited patiently for me, drawing me close to Him, at times lovingly chastising me along the path to discovering true freedom.

There was a time my heart had become hardened from pain and brokenness. My heart was locked inside walls of sorrow. I kept it protected from future pain, and I vowed never to let anyone or anything hurt me again. But, the Lord required me to hand over the key to my heart. He wanted access to all the locked doors.

Healing is a process. At times, I felt shackled to the weight of my sin. Guilt, shame and condemnation separated me from God’s healing. A hardened heart cannot yield to God’s plan of redemption. Jeremiah 29:11 states, For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Your hope is secure in the Lord’s hands.

God knows the secrets of the heart Slowly, God’s light came into the wounded places bringing with it hope and healing. At times the healing was painful, but I was never alone. Jesus was with me and bringing me out of captivity one step at a time.

Firsthand, I experienced the Lord’s steadfast love and His compassionate heart. He healed my broken heart, one shattered piece at a time. All that was required of me was to trust Him with the key to my heart.

Pray-ButtonThank you Lord for your compassionate heart to bring healing and freedom into my life.

Has your heart become hardened as a result of life’s trials? What areas do you need to surrender to the Lord?

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe and recommend my site to other broken people! I appreciate your comments –

Thanks for Sharing! Follow me on Twitter: @Maureen_Hager
Like my Facebook Page: Maureen Hager – Out of the Brokenness
View my Pinterest Boards: Maureen Hager

Love and Blessings,
Maureen

 

3 responses to “Are You Willing to Give the Lord the Key to Your Heart?

  1. Samantha Manning

    This post was right on time! I have been dealing with recent heartbreak and Jesus has really shown Himself. I am praying every day for my heart not to become hard even as I feel bitterness trying to take root. Thank the Lord, I just know He will help me work through this. Trusting Him to work all things according to the good for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. Amen!

    Like

    • Samantha, I hope you found hope in my post. I am sorry that you are experiencing the pain of heartbreak. The best advice I can give you is – to heal a broken heart, give God all the pieces. You are right to guard your heart! Blessings, Maureen

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Shadow Living and commented:
    Such a tender post about God healing a heart one shattered piece at a time. Love this! We are all broken some more than others but ALL broken. God is The God Who Heals Jehovah-Rapha’

    Like

Leave a Reply

