I’ve Never Been This Age Before

13082606_10156851704890472_5247133628939804721_n

Saturday is my birthday. Ready or not – it will be here, sixty-five! While I must admit, it kind of took me by surprise. Physically, I feel it. Spiritually, I still have much to learn as I grow up in the Lord. Emotionally, I have matured, I have some wisdom to share; is anybody listening?

Psalm 90:12 – So teach us to number our days, That we may gain a heart of wisdom.

Officially I am a senior citizen and carry a Medicare card. I need God’s grace for this season of my life. I want to age gracefully and enjoy life in spite of its aches and pains.

Isaiah 40:29 – He gives power to the weak, And to those who have no might He increases strength.

God has a plan and purpose for us, no matter our age. Jesus reminds us if we abide in Him, we will bear much fruit. Qualifying for fruit-bearing requires abiding in Him and there is no expiration date.

God wants to use older believers to have an impact in their grandchildren’s lives, (Proverbs 17:6). Younger women need and long to be mentored by older women, (Titus 2:2-5). The Lord is not finished with us until that glorious day when we finish our race and receive our crown of righteousness, (2 Timothy 4:7-8).

Proverbs 16:31 – The silver-haired head is a crown of glory, If it is found in the way of righteousness.

Pray-ButtonThank you Lord, even in our senior years, we can bring glory to you through our actions, attitudes, and words. Psalm 71:18 – Now also when I am old and gray-headed, O God, do not forsake me, Until I declare Your strength to this generation, Your power to everyone who is to come.

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, Why not subscribe and recommend my site to other broken people? I appreciate your comments – What are your future hopes as you age?

Thanks for Sharing!  Follow me on Twitter: @Maureen_Hager

Like my Facebook Page: Maureen Hager – Out of the Brokenness

View my Pinterest Boards: Maureen Hager

Love and Blessings,
Maureen

Leave a Reply

