When God When?

Have you ever cried out in frustration to God, “When God, when?” There are times when our prayers can appear to go unanswered. We question if God even hears our pleas. But be assured, He is working on our behalf.

Jeremiah 29:11 gives us hope for the future; “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”      woman waiting

We can wait on God passively or expectantly. The passive person will eventually give up, believing they have waited long enough and nothing will change. They decide to learn to live with the situation. The expectant person continues to hope and expects the answer is coming at any moment, even though the waiting continues.

Do you believe that God will never fail you? Can you accept God’s timing and resist the temptation to reason it all out on your own? “A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps.” (Proverbs 16:9) Can you live in hope and trust God who causes all things to happen at exactly the right time?

In the book of Genesis, we read about the story of Joseph. He waited many years for the fulfillment of the dream God gave to him. Joseph went through many difficult situations and remained in prison before the time came for God’s purpose to manifest itself. (Genesis 39:41)

I must confess that I had a passive heart regarding a health issue. In 1977, I became a victim of a violent biker gang war and suffered two gunshot wounds from an M16 rifle. While recovering in the hospital, I contracted Hepatitis C through one of many blood transfusions. It wasn’t until a few years later that I learned I was infected with the chronic Hepatitis C virus. This contagious liver disease will not simply go away.

For the past 39 years, I had numerous blood tests, liver biopsies, and doctor visits to monitor my liver. The only treatments available were difficult to endure, and the success rate for a cure was below average. I resolved to accept and adapt to living with Hepatitis C. I simply grew tired of waiting.

Suddenly a new drug came on the market, and I was an excellent match for treatment. More tests, frequent doctor’s visits, and endless paperwork followed, but this time, I waited expectantly. And then one day, a box arrived on my doorstep containing my first bottle of medication. I prayed with thankfulness for the healing that would soon come.

Miracles

My latest test results revealed the virus was no longer detected in my blood. My breakthrough had come. Now I am focusing on other prayer requests that have seemed to go unanswered. My faith has swelled with hope, for God is faithful!

Pray-ButtonThank you, Lord, for your limitless power. Help us to wait patiently and expectantly to receive our breakthrough.

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe and recommend my site to other broken people! I appreciate your comments – Will you hope in God’s promises? How will you wait?

Thanks for Sharing!  Follow me on Twitter: @Maureen_Hager

Like my Facebook Page: Maureen Hager – Out of the Brokenness

View my Pinterest Boards: Maureen Hager

Love and Blessings,
Maureen

 

Leave a Reply

