Where Have All the Mentors Gone?

women-mentoringWhen I was a young Christian and wondering what a new life in Christ would look like, a friend I had just met, volunteered to disciple me.

Each Friday night, a big bowl of popcorn sat between us as we opened our Bibles. I looked forward to our times together. I hungered for the truth and asked Diane, “What does God think about this, and what about that?”  She always went directly to the Bible to show me the answer from God’s Word.

It was between the pages of the Bible that she pointed out some of the women that God loved unconditionally. Women like Mary Magdalene, possessed by seven demons, but now delivered, healed and a follower of Jesus. Rahab, the harlot, who became a heroine of faith. They were two women transformed by God and later used in a mighty way. She shared the hope that God would transform me too as I followed Him.

Thirty-seven years later, she is still my best friend and mentor. She is a role model of how a Christian woman lives her life with all its trials and triumphs. Diane continues to have a great impact on my life, and she is surely one of my great blessings from God. Today our relationship is based on mutual caring and sharing.

Mentoring and discipleship are closely related. Discipleship is spiritual in nature. Mentoring is advising someone or teaching them a certain set of skills. Both are built on relationship building and a commitment to one another.

In the book of Ruth, we read about a beautiful relationship between two women. Ruth lifted Naomi’s spirits; Naomi guided Ruth. Each one was offering the other, the assurance of hope.

women-tribe_souls

Therefore comfort each other and edify one another,                         just as you also are doing.  (1Thessalonians 5:11 NKJV)

I have mentored girls coming out of sex trafficking and young girls needing someone to talk through situations of life. The need for mentoring is all around us. Will you seek the Lord to show you someone who needs mentoring or discipleship? It will be a most rewarding experience as you share His love with someone in need.  And who knows, you may just make a friend for life!

For more information about Mentoring & Discipleship, visit my new Pinterest board.

Pray EasyThank you, Lord, for the relationship we have with you.

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe and recommend my site to other broken people!  I appreciate your comments – Do you have a mentoring story to share?                                                              I

Thanks for Sharing!  Follow me on Twitter: @Maureen_Hager

Like my Facebook Page: Maureen Hager – Out of the Brokenness

View my Pinterest Boards: Maureen Hager

Love and Blessings,
Maureen

 

 

Leave a Reply

