Receive the Gift of God’s Joy

God is our source of JOY

Not feeling joyful this season? I know Christmas is not always a happy time for everyone. It was not joyous for me the year I lay in a hospital bed alone and sorrowful. Myjoy-1823939_640-1 body was encased in plaster and my leg in traction.

There was the year my father died on December 23 and our family spent Christmas Day in the car driving to New Jersey for his funeral. Years later my sister-in-law would lose her fight with cancer on this very day.

One Christmas Eve as our family was preparing for our celebration; my mother-in-law was rushed to the hospital only never to return home.

The sting of their absence over the years affected our Christmas seasons. We no longer participated in some of our Christmas traditions. Each season we remembered our loss.

And then joy entered our hearts again. Our grandson was born on December 23 and recovery came.

JOY is strength

Joy is not just the absence of suffering, it is the presence of God. There is joy in the season and the celebration, not because of our circumstances, but because Jesus is the Reason for the Season. Jesus came so we could find God’s joy in all things.

Do not sorrow, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.          (Nehemiah 8:10b)

angel-564351_640If you find yourself struggling with sadness, anxiety, or loneliness at this time of year, Romans 15:13 is my prayer for you.

 Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Romans 15:13)

May you keep the hope of God’s joy in your heart all year long.

Merry Christmas!

Love, Maureen

Pray EasyThank you, Lord, for your hope that brings joy and peace to our hearts 

Join the conversation – If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe and recommend my site to other broken people! I appreciate your comments – What is your most joyous Christmas memory?

Thanks for Sharing!  Follow me on Twitter: @Maureen_Hager

Like my Facebook Page: Maureen Hager – Out of the Brokenness

View my Pinterest Boards: Maureen Hager

 

Leave a Reply

